Solomon Burke, Wilson Pickett and Carla Thomas are among those selected by the Rhythm & Blues Foundation to receive its 1993 Pioneer Awards, to be presented Feb. 25 at the Palace in Hollywood.

The Foundation, dedicated to the celebration and preservation of R&B, honors R&B artists with trophies and cash awards, in part to compensate for the lack, in some cases, of adequate royalty payments.

This year’s recipients will split more than $ 190,000.

The event is part of Grammy Week and will be held the day after the 35th annual Grammy Awards.

Besides the above, the Foundation will also honor pioneers Hadda Brooks, Dave Clark, Floyd Dixon, Lowell Fulson, Erskine Hawkins, and Jimmy Witherspoon, as well as groups Little Anthony & the Imperials and Martha & the Vandellas.

James Brown will be presented with the annual Ray Charles Lifetime Achievement Award.

Broadcast Music Inc. EMI Music and USAir are sponsoring the Pioneer Awards along with the R&B Foundation.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0