Singer Garth Brooks won his third straight entertainer of the year award, the duo Brooks & Dunn earned three trophies and crooner Vince Gill won two at Tuesday night’s Academy of Country Music Awards.

“I’d really like to thank you all out there.

God bless you,” Brooks said in accepting the evening’s top honor. It was his ninth academy trophy in three years.

A list of winners follows:

Entertainer of the year: Garth Brooks.

Male vocalist: Vince Gill.

Female vocalist: Mary-Chapin Carpenter.

Group: Diamond Rio.

Duet: Brooks & Dunn.

New male vocalist: Tracy Lawrence.

New female vocalist: Michelle Wright.

New group or duet: Confederate Railroad.

Single record: “Boot Scootin’ Boogie,” Brooks & Dunn.

Song: “I Still Believe in You,” Vince Gill.

Album: “Brand New Man,” Brooks & Dunn.

Video: “Two Sparrows in a Hurricane,” Tanya Tucker.

Pioneer Award (for outstanding achievement): George Jones.

Tex Ritter Award (to movie soundtrack): “Pure Country,” George Strait.

Radio station of the year: KNIX in Phoenix.

Disc jockey of the year: Jon Conlon of WGKX radio in Memphis.

Night club of the year: Billy Bob’s in Fort Worth, Texas.


Bass: Glenn Worf

Drums: Eddie Bayers

Fiddle: Mark O’Connor

Guitar: John Jorgenson

Keyboard: Matt Rollings

Specialty instrument: Jerry Douglas (dobro)

Steel guitar: Jay Dee Maness

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0