CTG/Taper tops L.A. crix pix with 9

The Center Theater Group/Mark Taper Forum has received the highest number of awards this year from the Los Angeles Drama Critics Circle, taking nine trophies , including two for outstanding production.

Of the 30 awards that will be handed out at an April 4 ceremony, five will go to the Taper’s production of Robert Schenkkan’s “The Kentucky Cycle,” which was the most nominated production of the past season.

Tony Kushner’s “Angels in America: A Gay Fantasia on National Themes,” which also played at the Taper, had three awards.

The third award for outstanding production went to an Equity waiver production of “Melody Jones,” adapted by Dan Gerrity and Jeremy Lawrence from David Galloway’s novel. Show, which ran at the Cast Theater in Hollywood, received four awards.

Kushner and Schenkkan received writing awards; director nods went to Julie Cobb (“Twelve Angry Men” at the Company of Angels), Oskar Eustis and Tony Taccone (“Angels in America”) and Ron Link (“Melody Jones”).

Performance awards went to Kandis Chappell, for South Coast Repertory’s “Woman in Mind”; Trevor Goddard, “Cock & Bull Story,” Fountainhead Theater; Charles Hallahan, “The Kentucky Cycle”; Ed Harris, “Scar,” Met Theatre; Nan Martin, “Odd Jobs,” SCR; Bebe Neuwirth, “Chicago,” Terrace Theater; Mark Sheppard, “Cock & Bull Story”; Morgan Weisser, “Being at Home With Claude,” Stages Theatre Center.

The cast of “The World Goes Round,” which played at the Henry Fonda, received the ensemble performance award. They are: Joel Blum, Shelley Dickinson, Marin Mazzie, John Ruess and Karen Ziemba.

John Fleck received a creation performance award, for “A Snowball’s Chance in Hell,” which ran at Taper, Too and at the Coast Playhouse. Other creation awards went to Charlayne Woodard, for “Pretty Fire,” at the Fountainhead and at the Odyssey.

Production awards went to Michael Olich, for scenic design on “The Kentucky Cycle”; Ken Booth (“Melody Jones”) and Peter Maradudin (“The Kentucky Cycle”), for lighting; and Scott Watson (“Melody Jones”) for sound design.

Costume design awards went to Ann Bruice, for SCR’s revival of “The Philadelphia Story,” and Cara Varnell, Alex Jaeger and Lori Martin, for Pacific Theatre Ensemble’s “Under the Gaslight.”

Ann Reinking (“Chicago”) and Susan Stroman (“The World Goes Round”) received choreography awards.

The Djimbe West African Dancers and Drummers received a musical performance award for their performance in SCR’s “Twelfth Night.” Musical direction awards went to Steven Applegate for “Candide” at the Colony Studio Theater and to John McDaniel for “Chicago.”

The Circle’s annual Margaret Harford Award will go to the West Coast Ensemble. Two special awards will be given this year, to the recently created Theatre Row Hollywood association and to Ben Donenberg and his Shakespeare Festival/L.A.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Legit News from Variety