Women’s Press Club to give Heston award

Hollywood legend Charlton Heston will receive the Louella O. Parsons Award when the Hollywood Women’s Press Club hands out its Golden Apple Awards Dec. 12.

Heston’s award will be presented by fellow thesp Jack Lemmon at the org’s awards luncheon at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

The star of “Ben Hur,””El Cid,””Midway,””Soylent Green” and “The Greatest Story Ever Told” was chosen as the individual who presents the best image of the entertainment industry to the world.

The press club also announced its Golden Apple nominees Tuesday. Competing for male star of the year are Garth Brooks, Sean Connery, Harrison Ford, Mel Gibson, Arnold Schwarzenegger and Denzel Washington. Females nominated include Natalie Cole, Michelle Pfeiffer, Miranda Richardson, Meg Ryan, Jane Seymour and Emma Thompson.

Nominees for female discovery of the year are Angela Bassett, Kathy Najimy, Rosie Perez, Marisa Tomei, Jeanne Tripplehorn and Sela Ward. Male discovery nods went to Jesse Bradford, Laurence Fishburne, Ross Lainger, Chris O’Donnell, Brad Pitt and Bill Pullman.

Sour Apples nominations went to Shannen Doherty, Burt Reynolds and Sharon Stone.

The Hollywood Women’s Press Club, founded by gossip columnist Louella Parsons with 10 other writers, is in its 65th year. It is the oldest women’s press org in the U.S.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety