You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

U corrals Eidson’s ‘Standoff’

Universal Pictures has purchased Tom Eidson’s Western novel “The Standoff” for studio-based Stampede Entertainment, sources said Tuesday. Ron Underwood (“City Slickers”) is attached to direct the project.

While financial details were not available, sources said the deal — brokered by Eidson’s agent, Jody Hotchkiss of Sterling-Lord Literistic — includes option and purchase prices in the “high six figures.””The Standoff” has not been published yet.

Described by Stampede managing partner Nancy Roberts as being in the tradition of “Shane” and “Unforgiven,””The Standoff” is a Western set in the 1800s about a man who reluctantly rescues three nuns and seven children from a band of Apache Indians.

Universal, which was the only studio to see the book, immediately made a preemptive buy of the property. The deal was spearheaded by Stampede’s Roberts and VP Lou Malacarne and Universal’s senior VP Tom Craig.

“The Standoff” is now the subject of competing bids by publishers Random House and Putnam. Eidson is president/CEO of public relations firm Hill & Knowlton Inc.

More Film

  • Steve Beeks Lionsgate

    Veteran Executive Steve Beeks Departing From Lionsgate

    Universal Pictures has purchased Tom Eidson’s Western novel “The Standoff” for studio-based Stampede Entertainment, sources said Tuesday. Ron Underwood (“City Slickers”) is attached to direct the project. While financial details were not available, sources said the deal — brokered by Eidson’s agent, Jody Hotchkiss of Sterling-Lord Literistic — includes option and purchase prices in the […]

  • No Merchandising. Editorial Use Only. No

    'Endless Summer' Filmmaker Bruce Brown Dies at 80

    Universal Pictures has purchased Tom Eidson’s Western novel “The Standoff” for studio-based Stampede Entertainment, sources said Tuesday. Ron Underwood (“City Slickers”) is attached to direct the project. While financial details were not available, sources said the deal — brokered by Eidson’s agent, Jody Hotchkiss of Sterling-Lord Literistic — includes option and purchase prices in the […]

  • Steven Caple Jr.

    Steven Caple Jr. to Direct 'Creed 2' Starring Michael B. Jordan and Sylvester Stallone (EXCLUSIVE)

    Universal Pictures has purchased Tom Eidson’s Western novel “The Standoff” for studio-based Stampede Entertainment, sources said Tuesday. Ron Underwood (“City Slickers”) is attached to direct the project. While financial details were not available, sources said the deal — brokered by Eidson’s agent, Jody Hotchkiss of Sterling-Lord Literistic — includes option and purchase prices in the […]

  • Seth Rogen to Play Walter Cronkite

    Seth Rogen to Play Walter Cronkite in JFK Assassination Drama 'Newsflash'

    Universal Pictures has purchased Tom Eidson’s Western novel “The Standoff” for studio-based Stampede Entertainment, sources said Tuesday. Ron Underwood (“City Slickers”) is attached to direct the project. While financial details were not available, sources said the deal — brokered by Eidson’s agent, Jody Hotchkiss of Sterling-Lord Literistic — includes option and purchase prices in the […]

  • Golden Globe Nominations: Good News and

    Golden Globes Nominations: At Least It Was a Good Year for Strong Female Roles

    Universal Pictures has purchased Tom Eidson’s Western novel “The Standoff” for studio-based Stampede Entertainment, sources said Tuesday. Ron Underwood (“City Slickers”) is attached to direct the project. While financial details were not available, sources said the deal — brokered by Eidson’s agent, Jody Hotchkiss of Sterling-Lord Literistic — includes option and purchase prices in the […]

  • Radiohead's Jonny Greenwood on Scoring 'Phantom

    There Will Be Greenwood: The Radiohead Rocker on Scoring 'Phantom Thread'

    Universal Pictures has purchased Tom Eidson’s Western novel “The Standoff” for studio-based Stampede Entertainment, sources said Tuesday. Ron Underwood (“City Slickers”) is attached to direct the project. While financial details were not available, sources said the deal — brokered by Eidson’s agent, Jody Hotchkiss of Sterling-Lord Literistic — includes option and purchase prices in the […]

  • NOR_D01_053017_9621_R2 – L-R: Tom Hanks (Ben

    Fox Picks Up Leading 27 Golden Globes Nominations as Disney Deal Looms

    Universal Pictures has purchased Tom Eidson’s Western novel “The Standoff” for studio-based Stampede Entertainment, sources said Tuesday. Ron Underwood (“City Slickers”) is attached to direct the project. While financial details were not available, sources said the deal — brokered by Eidson’s agent, Jody Hotchkiss of Sterling-Lord Literistic — includes option and purchase prices in the […]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content