Golden Apples pick Ford, Seymour

Harrison Ford and Jane Seymour were honored as male and female stars of the year at the Hollywood Women’s Press Club’s annual Golden Apple Awards on Sunday.

Burt Reynolds was chided with the group’s Sour Apple award, presented to the performer deemed the least newsworthy or most taken with his or her own publicity.

Golden Apple winners are chosen on the basis of their friendliness to the media.

Angela Bassett, star of the Tina Turner biopic “What’s Love Got to Do With It ,” was named female discovery of the year. “Scent of a Woman” actor Chris O’Donnell was chosen as male discovery of the year.

Charlton Heston won the Louella O. Parsons Award as the individual who best represented Hollywood during the year.

Frances Fisher and Dina Merrill presented the star of the year awards, while Jack Lemmon presented the Parsons Award. Dorian Harewood and Valerie Harper presented the awards for male and female discovery of the year.

The Hollywood Women’s Press Club is the oldest women’s press organization in the country. It was founded in 1928 by gossip columnist Louella Parsons.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety