Oscar winners Clint Eastwood, Jack Palance and Jane Fonda are among the seven showbiz personalities to be honored with the Golden Boot Awards, which will be handed out Aug. 21 at the Century Plaza Hotel. The Golden Boots were established in 1982 by Pat Buttram to recognize performers, stunt people, producers and directors who have furthered the tradition of the oater genre in film and TV.

Ted Turner, chairman/CEO Turner Broadcasting System, stuntman Chuck Courtney and actor Buck Taylor will also be honored. A special award will presented to William “Hopalong Cassidy” Boyd. It will be accepted by his widow, Grace Boyd.

Proceeds from the annual event will benefit the Motion Picture & Television Fund Foundation. Tickets are $ 175 per person.

Since the awards’ inception, the annual events have raised more than $ 1 million for the MPTF’s programs and services.

The event will include auctions of Western artifacts and memorabilia. Presenters will include Burt Reynolds, Richard Farnsworth,Rand Brooks, Andrew J. Fenady, Robert Fuller and Robert Trotten. Doug McClure will be master of ceremonies.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0