SAG voters retain Gordon as prexy

Screen Actors Guild prexy Barry Gordon easily won reelection to the top slot Friday, trouncing opponents by a nearly 3-2 margin in one of the most wide open SAG races in recent history.

Gordon collected 6,100 votes, nearly 1,700 more than Angel Tompkins’ 4,404. DeWayne Williams received 1,491, Jim Curley 1,477 and Jillian Rothschild1,028 in a race many expected to be closer.

The win gave Gordon his third term as SAG president, putting him in the elite company of Charlton Heston and Ronald Reagan as the only other three-term toppers.

“I’m glad the members have given me an opportunity to finish some of the things I’ve started,” Gordon said after the votes were counted Friday. “I think I got 42% of the vote in a field of five, which is certainly gratifying.”

Gordon took over for his first term in 1988, replacing Patty Duke, who had stepped down. By 1995, at the completion of his term, Gordon’s seven years in office will make him the longest-serving president in the union’s 60-year history. Heston and Reagan each served six years.

Gordon said his mandate as president would continue to be the ongoing effort to merge SAG and the American Federation of Television & Radio Artists. “That was my key priority and it still is,” he said.

The race, with five candidates, was surprisingly open. Some Gordon supporters had worried that a recent controversy over a dispute with the Assn. of Talent Agents might harm Gordon’s chances for reelection, but it didn’t turn out that way.

In the treasurer’s race, F.J. O’Neil claimed victory, nearlydoubling the vote totals of opponents Nina Diamante and Lisa Pelikan. Kathy Connell won an unopposed race for recording secretary.

Numerous veepee slots were filled across the country. In Hollywood, Sumi Haru won for first VP, Richard Masur for third VP, Jacque Lynn Colton for ninth VP and Lev Mailer for 11th VP. In New York, Paul Hecht won unopposed for second VP, Mel Boudrot for fourth VP, Maureen Donnelly for 10th VP and Larry Keith for 12th VP.

In Chicago, Mary Seibel won for fifth veep. Scott DeVenney won for sixth veep in San Francisco. And Bruce McLaughlin took the seventh veep in Florida. In Atlanta, Ted Henning won unopposed for the eighth veep slot.

West Coast board members elected to three-year seats are Christina Belford, Bibi Besch, Isabel Boniface, Toey Caldwell, Carole Elliott, Raymond Forchion, Jackie Joseph, Warren J. Kemmerling, Edie Lehmann, Nicholas Pryor, John Randolph and Angel Tompkins. Mitchell Ryan and Yale Summers both won one-year seats on the board.

In Gotham, Manny Alfaro, Fran Brill, Lee Bryant, Elaine LeGaro, Joanna Myers, Cliff Robertson, Marcia Savella and Leslie Shreve won East Coast three-year terms.

New board members in other regions included Nancy Sellars in Chicago, Hugh Lampman in Dallas, Laurie Brown in Detroit, Laird Stuart in Florida, Dyanne Thorne in Nevada and Chuck Dorsett in San Francisco.

In addition to wins in other races, O’Neil and Colton took board seats in Hollywood and Donnelly and Hecht captured Gotham slots.

SAG spokesman Mark Locher said members are allowed to serve both on the board and in offices, but he added they often relinquish the seats to the board replacement committee.

Locher said roughly 20% of some 76,500 paid-up SAG members voted for the officers and board members.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Biz News from Variety