IATSE praises DiTolla, old guard re-elected

Union members gave strong support to IATSE president Alfred DiTolla and his agenda Friday, re-electing all of his incumbents as the 61st convention of the Intl. Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees came to a close.

Those re-elected included Thomas C. Short as general secretary-treasurer, and VPs Frank A. Hobbs, John J. Nolan, John J. Ryan, Edward C. Powell, Nick Long and Daniel J. Kerins. VPs Mike W. Proscia, Alan L. Cowley, Rudy N. Napoleone, Carmine Pallazzo and Jean Fox, along with Canadian Labour Council delegate Gus Bottas, ran unopposed.

Fox is the first woman to serve in an IA VP post.

International trustees granted new terms are Nels L. Hansen, Ada S. Philpot and Michael J. Sullivan.

The most hotly contested race was to name the AFL-CIO delegates, with Nancy M. Bues and Stephen R. Flint elected. They ran against Liz Alvarez and Michael Bialac.

DiTolla, who this year initiated a scaled-down contract for longform television production with NBC and continues a program to step-up organizing of production nationwide, ran uncontested for his fourth term as president of IA.

Friday afternoon’s final gathering began with the naming of eight winners of the Intl. President’s Award for Outstanding Dedication to the Craft and the Union, and concluded with the installation of new and re-elected officers.

President’s Award winners this year are Patricia Brannigan Doherty of Local 862, Eugene Kemmer of Local 18, Robert R. Corrigal of Local 300, John V. McNamee of Local 18, Bernice Rose of Locals 477 and 858, Robert P. McDonald of Local 1, John J. Coleman Jr. of Local 4, and Burt K. Ellis of Local 767.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Biz News from Variety