Devany, others voted to ITS offices

Al Devaney, G.M. at WPWR-TV, Chicago, has been elected chairman of the board of the Assn. of Independent Television Stations.

Devaney, who will serve a two-year term as the INTV board topper, succeeds WHPL-TV, Philadelphia, G.M. Randall Smith.

Also elected to two-year INTV terms were KTVU-TV, San Francisco, G.M. Kevin O’Brien as vice chairman; Chase Communications prez Edward Karlik as treasurer; and Tribune Television topper Dennis FitzSimons as secretary.

The elections were held at INTV’s recently concluded fall board meeting in Orlando. The indie trade org also elected James Major, G.M. at WFTS-TV, Tampa, to a seat on the board of directors, and decided to retain the D.C. law firm of Sidley and Austin to defend the constitutionality of the must-carry/retransmission consent provision of the new cable law.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More TV News from Variety