NARAS unveils Lifetime honorees

The National Academy of Recording Arts & Sciences has announced six artists and three music industry pioneers as recipients of its 1992-93 Lifetime Achievement and Trustees Awards, which will be acknowledged during the telecast of the 35th annual Grammy Awards.

The Lifetime Achievement awards, honoring lifelong artistic contributions to the recording medium, will be given to guitar innovator Chet Atkins, rock ‘n’ roll pioneer Little Richard, jazzman Thelonious Monk, bluegrass father Bill Monroe, folk singer Pete Seeger and pianist Fats Waller.

The Trustees awards, granted for outstanding contributions in a nonperforming capacity, will be given to Atlantic Records founder Ahmet Ertegun, blues songwriter/publisher W.C. Handy and jazz writer/producer George Simon.

Both awards are decided by vote of the Recording Academy’s national trustees. The Grammys will be telecast Feb. 24 from the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0


    Leave a Reply

    No Comments

    Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

    Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

    You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

    Twitter picture

    You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

    Facebook photo

    You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

    Google+ photo

    You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

    Connecting to %s

    More Music News from Variety