WGA Affiliates Awards to debut in May

Writers Guild Foundation International Affiliates Awards for Screen and Television Writing will be awarded for the first time next year, with winners selected by Writers Guild of America affiliates in participating countries.

Eligible for the 1992 awards, to be presented May 8 at the WGA theater in BevHills, will be film and TV writers from the WGA affiliates in Australia, Britain, Canada (English and French) and New Zealand.

The winning scribes will be guests of the foundation during a week-long festival beginning May 3. The fest will include screenings, seminars and other events.

“The continued globalization of our industry mandates cooperation with the writing community throughout the world,” said foundation prexy Melville Shavelson. “We hope to foster a growing interest in and appreciation of foreign works here in the United States.”

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety