‘Lunch’ eats up 8 Canadian Genies

David Cronenberg’s “Naked Lunch” made a clean sweep of the Nov. 22 Genie Awards–the Canadian equivalent of the Oscars–taking eight prizes, including best picture for producers Jeremy Thomas and Gabriella Martinelli.

Cronenberg received best director, as well as best screenplay adaptation of William Burroughs’ novel. “Lunches’ ” Monique Mercure was named best supporting actress.

“Naked Lunch” was also noted for best achievement in cinematography (Peter Suschitzky); best achievement in art direction/production design (Carol Spier); best overall sound (Bryan Day, Peter Maxwell, David Appleby, Don White); and best sound editing (David Evans, Wayne Griffin, Janet Tattersall, Tony Currie, Andy Malcolm, Rick Cadger).

“Naked Lunch” had lead the nominations with 11 nods, followed by “La Sarrasine” with 10 and “Being At Home With Claude” and “Leolo,” which each had nine. But “Leolo” was the only other multiple award winner, taking three awards.

“Leolo” writer/director Jean-Claude Lauzon garnered honors for best original screenplay. In addition, “Leolo” received best achievement in film editing (Michel Arcand) and best achievement in costume design (Francois Barbeau).

Tony Nardi was named best lead actor for his role in “La Sarrasine,” beating out “Naked Lunch” star Peter Weller.

Best lead actress went to Janet Wright in “Bordertown Cafe,” while Michael Hogan was named best supporting actor for “Solitaire.”

Michael Spencer, president of Montreal-based Film Finances Canada, received the Air Canada Award, an annual prize which recognizes an individual who has made a significant contribution to the Canadian film industry.

Spencer was instrumental in the founding of federal funder Telefilm Canada 25 years ago.

“Black Robe” producers Robert Lantos, Stephane Reichel and Sue Milliken of Alliance Communications and Samson Productions Pty. Limited, were given the Golden Reel Award for achieving the top Canadian box office gross for the year ending Sept. 30, 1992.

Other awards included: best music score to “Being at Home With Claude” (Richard Gregoire); best original song to “Secret Nation” (“Final Breath” by Ron Hynes); best feature length documentary to “Deadly Current” (Simcha Jacobovici, Elliot Halpern, Ric Esther Bienstock); best short documentary to “A Song for Tibet” (Anne Henderson, Kent Martin, Abbey Neidik); best live action short drama to “Battle of the Bulge” (Arlene Hazzan Green); and best animated short to “Strings” (Wendy Tilby).

The 20-statuette ceremony was broadcast from the Metro Toronto Convention Centre on pubcaster CBC. Leslie Nielsen hosted the event for the second year in a row.

The previously announced host John Candy withdrew last week after an advertisement was placed in Canadian trade mag Playback without the actor’s consent.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety