Robert N. Cohen, Susannah Grant, Andrew W. Marlowe, Terri Edda Miller and Michelle Wollmers were chosen yesterday as the 1992 recipients of Don and Gee Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences.

Each of the five non-pro writers will receive a $ 20,000 fellowship to fund the writing of a feature film screenplay over the next year.

The new fellows in the seventh annual competition were chosen from an original field of 3,514 entrants from 48 states, the District of Columbia and 13 foreign countries (Daily Variety, Oct. 15).

Cohen won for his script “The Good Ole Boy,” Grant for “Island Girl,” Marlowe for “The Lehigh Pirates,” Miller for “Bedwarmer” and Wollmers for “Infidels.” Though Nicholl fellows usually come from a wide geographical area, all the winners this year live in Southern California.

The winners will be honored Nov. 12 at an awards dinner at Chasen’s restaurant. The Acad has no rights to the material written by the fellows but puts them in contact with interested parties.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0