Statuettes For Loy And Loren

Myrna Loy and Sophia Loren will receive honorary Oscars this year. The board of governors gives out honorary Oscars periodically in recognition of lifetime achievement. Japanese director Akira Kurosawa was honored last year.

Loy will receive a gold statuette in recognition of her 54-year career, during which she appeared in approximately 125 films, but was never nominated for an Oscar.

She made more than 60 features in her first 10 years as a Hollywood actress. But she didn’t become a top star until she teamed with William Powell in “The Thin Man” at MGM in 1934. That hit was followed by five sequels. In 1936, Loy was crowned “Queen of the Movies” in a national poll of filmgoers.

Loren, a 1961 best actress Oscar winner for “Two Women,” remains the only performer ever to earn an acting Oscar for work in a foreign-language film.

She will be cited as “one of the genuine treasures of world cinema who, in a career rich with memorable performances, has added permanent luster to our art form.” Loren’s body of work includes 60 films. “Marriage, Italian Style” earned her a second Academy nomination for best actress.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety