The American Society of Cinematographers has announced nominees for outstanding achievement in cinematography during 1990.

Winners will be announced Feb. 24 at the fifth annual ASC awards banquet at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

Charles Lang will receive the 1991 ASC Lifetime Achievement Award; Hans Koenekamp will be honored with the ASC President’s Award for his pioneering work in the art and science of visual effects; and Los Angeles Times arts editor Charles Champlin will be given the ASC Governor’s Awards.

ASC competition is open to cinematographers from around the world. Nominees and winners are selected by their peers.

The nominees are:

Theatrical feature: Allen Daviau, “Avalon”; Adam Greenberg, “Ghost”; Dean Semler, “Dances With Wolves”; Vittorio Storaro, “Dick Tracy”; Gordon Willis, “The Godfather Part III.”

Episodic television: John Elsenbach, “Murder, She Wrote” (“Ballad For A Blue Lady”); John Flinn, “Jake And The Fatman” (“God Bless The Child”); Victor Goss, “Gabriel’s Fire” (“Money Walks”); Michael Watkins, “Quantum Leap” (“Pool Hall Blues”); Kenneth Zunder, “thirtysomething” (“The Go-Between”).

Telefilm or pilot: Don Burgess, “The Court Martial Of Jackie Robinson”; Ron Garcia, “Twin Peaks”; Donald M. Morgan, “Murder In Mississippi”; Thomas Alger Olgeirson, “Gabriel’s Fire”; William Wages, “Caroline?” (“Hallmark Hall Of Fame”).

Miniseries: Gayne Rescher, “Jackie Collins’ Lucky/Chances Part I”; Denis Lewiston, “The Big One: The Great Los Angeles Earthquake, Part II”; William Wages, “Voices Within: The Story Of Truddi Chase, Part II.”

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0