Eleventh-hour appointees of former Gov. George Deukmejian have filled three of four vacancies on the California Film Commission.

Gov. Pete Wilson’s first direct input in CFC will not be registered until he names a successor to former CFC director Lisa Rawlins, now a location v.p. at Warner Bros. Deputy director Melissa Higgins, acting head of the commission, is a candidate for the post.

The new Deukmejian designees are Gayle Gladinus, a flight attendant with no previous industry ties; Santa Clarita City Councilwoman Jo Anne Darcy, senior deputy to Los Angeles County Supervisor Mike Antonovich; and Susan Pederson, an adviser to the state’s Integrated Waste Management board member Michael Frost, and for the prior seven and a half years attached to the governor’s office.

A fourth new CFC member is Assemblyman Mike Roos (D-Los Angeles), appointed by Assembly Speaker Willie Brown (D-San Francisco) to succeed Assemblyman Pat Nolan (R-Glendale).

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0